My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen by David Clawson

My Fairy Godmother Is a Drag QueenTitle: My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen 

Author: David Clawson

Rating: ★★★★☆

“And that’s why you need a fairy godmother. For the rest of the night you’re not allowed to worry about anything. You have one, and only one, responsibility. To have the sweetass time of your sweetass life. Do you understand me?”

This modernized Cinderella retelling has so much humor and fun, it’s such a quick read, and I really loved it.

Things I Liked :
This story is laugh out loud funny. I had a great time reading it. The situations and the characters create a fun and dramatic environment that carries humor really well. The humor never felt forced to at the expense of others (except the instances noted below) and really makes this book a breeze. The humor flows in the story well and isn’t stiff or awkward.

The writing was almost conversational. It was friendly and open. It made Chris instantly likable and accessible and helped me become enveloped in the story immediately.

The characters felt authentic and that made all the relationships believable. All of the character were well developed and played their parts well without feeling boring. We get more than is expected and that helped the story feel fresh and compelling. I loved that we got to see friendships and family relationships develop as well as romantic relationships. It helped the world feel more real, because it wasn’t only about the romance.

This was a fantastic modernized retelling of Cinderella. We have genderbent characters, more diversity, a fantastic setting. The characters have been modernized incredible well, they aren’t just the stereotypes of the evil stepmom and step siblings, they are real people. They have a life of their own. They just felt like real people and it was fantastic. I liked that the story got into the plot quickly, there wasn’t a bunch of waiting around for Chris and JJ to meet.

Things I Didn’t Like :
There were 2 fat shaming instances passed off as jokes, one at the beginning of the story and another about halfway through. I personally thought they were done in poor taste, and were not funny. I could have done without them.

The ending was actually awesome. I loved it and it made me happy. It felt earned and had the culminating and grand Cinderella feel, I just wanted more. I wanted to see more of Chris and JJ after the big reveal: their relationship, their families reactions, the public’s reaction. I would have loved to get more.

This was such a great FUN book. I loved this modernized Cinderella tale and thought it was executed very well. I would definitely recommend.

I received a copy of the book from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for a honest review.

2 thoughts on “My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen by David Clawson

Leave a Reply

