Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag

I wasn’t  tagged by anyone, but I saw this by Elise @ The Booksih Actress, and this looked like so much fun that I had to do it. The goal is to randomize your Goodreads “read” shelf, pick the first three books, and state some opinions.

Round 1

Burn: Drops of Rain by Kathryn Andrews. Honestly, I don’t remember anything about this at all. And after reading the synopsis, I only vaguely remember it. I apparently enjoyed it, but it clearly didn’t leave enough of an impression.

RewriteTrust Me, I’m Lyingby Mary Elizabeth Summer. This was a fun mystery/heist style story that I did end up really liking. But, some plot points could have been tighter, and I would have liked more development for some of the characters.

Reread: Just One Night by Gayle Forman. I really love this series, and want to reread the entire thing anyways, so this is a no brainer. I love seeing how the characters grow so much individually, and this novella shows what finally happens when they meet again.

Round 2

Burn: Frostbite by Richelle Mead. This isn’t my favorite series. Don’t get me wrong it’s got some great humor, but it’s not a stand out for me. I’m not too crazy about any of the characters or the relationships, and the series definitely starts to go downhill after book 3.

RewriteRed Queen by Victoria Aveyard. Purely to allow all of the potential to shine through, and maybe get some distance from all of the overused tropes.

Reread: The Women of Brewster Place by Gloria Naylor. This is one of my all time favorite books. It’s such a character story, you meet and fall in love with these women. You see how their lives have been shaped by where they live, and how all of theses stories begin to intersect. It’s fantastic and I HIGHLY recommend.

Round 3

Burn: Girl Online by Zoe Sugg. I gave it a shot because I watch Zoe’s videos once in a blue moon, but I did not like this at all. I know the instalove was a little much for me and I HATED the gay best friend, he was so stereotypical and underdeveloped.

Rewrite: Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn. This was a fun Single White Female type of thriller story, but it was a little predictable. So a rewrite might add some more surprising moments. (P.S. This book comes out later this month, you should check it out!)

Reread: Bad Blood by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. Another thriller, but this one did catch me off guard a number of times. This is the conclusion to her series, The Naturals – about a group of teenagers who help the FBI solve crimes. It’s such a fun thriller series, with great characters and twists.

Round 4

Burn: The Heir by Kiera Cass. The Selection Series is a fun and quirky little dystopian that I appreciate for it’s uniqueness within the dystopian genre. But dear lord, I did not like this new installment at all. I hated Eadlyn as a main character, so there was really no hope at all.

Rewrite: Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller. This book had all the potential in the world: a fantasy assassin story with a genderfluid main character – Yes please. For me, the story got lost in info dumps, underdeveloped characters, and confusing aliases. This book is begging for the clarity a rewrite would provide.

Reread: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor. This was a really recent read for me, but it instantly became a favorite. Plus, Lazlo Strange is one of the best characters ever.

Round 5

Burn: Cress by Marissa Meyer. Now don’t hate me, but I think Cress was my least favorite book of the series. She was definitely my least favorite “princess” reimagining. I loved her interactions with the other characters and her place in the overall story, but she was so nauseatingly naive and boy crazy that I never really connected to her.

Rewrite: Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown. [I never noticed it before, but this kind of reminds me of Openly Straight by Bill Konigsberg, the synopsis at least]. This book was solidly middle of the road for me, nothing so good it stood out, but nothing too bad to detract from it either. A rewrite could vamp up the story and characters and make it something memorable.

Reread: Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge. I wasn’t really expecting much, but I ended up being pleasantly surprised. The world and history was so rich and the characters really captivated me. And I could reread this before checking out her other book, Cruel Beauty so it’s a win-win.

Thanks for reading! I’m tagging:  Fangirl FuryA THOUSAND LIVES OF FRANKIE LOVELYShe Reads Past MidnightHowling Libraries and anyone else who wants to do this.

 

8 thoughts on “Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag

  1. Maram @ shereadsatpastmidnight says:

    This tag looks like a lot of fun!! I’ve only ever read Cress from the list of titles you mentioned and currently reading Strange the Dreamer but omg… my heart hurts from you wanting to burn Cress… you make a good point though but still…
    I’m LOOOVING Strange the Dreamer and I have a feeling that it’ll be marked on to my “re-read worthy” shelf :’)
    THANKS FOR TAGGING ME! ^^

    Liked by 1 person

  2. fangirlfury says:

    I’ve been meaning to look for more book tags, and I’m so excited to do this one! I also had the same feelings about Girl Online, I was disappointed because I just love Zoe so much

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

