Unpopular Opinions | Book Tag

Another Sunday, another book tag.

Honestly the Unpopular Opinions Book Tag is probably my favorite video to watch on BookTube. I LOVE seeing what everyone’s unpopular opinions are. I even like seeing books that I love on other people’s lists! I think this tag really helps remind us that reading is SO SUBJECTIVE and everyone likes different things. I wasn’t tag by anyone, but I’m honestly surprised it took me this long to do this tag.

TheBookArcher on YouTube is the creator of this tag, so make sure you check out her video!

Find out my Unpopular book opinions below! Fair warning there might be spoilers below.

A POPULAR BOOK OR BOOK SERIES THAT YOU DIDN’T LIKE

Geekerella

Geekerella by Ashley Poston has everything I could want in a contemporary: it’s a modernized retelling, fandom and geek culture, movie magic! But I just didn’t connect with any of the characters (as a primarily character driven reader, this was a problem for me). I found most of the characters to be one dimensional and lacked an imaginative modernization.

*Honorable mention to The Hating Game by Sally Thorne. A book I was so bored by that I skimmed at least 40% of it.


 A POPULAR BOOK OR BOOK SERIES THAT EVERYONE ELSE SEEMS TO HATE BUT YOU LOVE

This Is Where the World Ends

really loved This is Where the World Ends by Amy Zhang. This is one of those situations where I 100% understand why people don’t like a book. This book deals with a whole host of issues including TOXIC relationships, manipulative “friends”, suicide, rape, and also heavily features cussing, drinking, and partying. All of those things contribute to people not liking this and I can see where they’re coming from. But this was such a captivating book for me, the emotions radiated off the page and hooked me.


AN OTP THAT YOU DON’T LIKE

I’m honestly a really easy-going shipper. I tend to follow the story and embrace the direction the author chooses to go in. I don’t think I have a hardcore NOTP.


A POPULAR BOOK GENRE THAT YOU HARDLY REACH FOR

Steampunk. Not my thing.


A POPULAR/BELOVED CHARACTER THAT YOU DO NOT LIKE

How much time do you have??? These characters are all varying degrees of dislike, but dislike none the less.

Katsa (from Graceling), Lila Bard, Peeta Mellark, Ron Weasley, Molly Weasley, Cress Darnell, Aaron Warner, Annabeth Chase (in the first series), AIDAN (from Illuminae).


POPULAR AUTHOR THAT YOU CAN’T SEEM TO GET INTO

Maggie Stiefvater. I felt like I needed to include an author I’ve read more than one book by, or I haven’t really given them enough of a chance to say “I can’t get into them”. I tried to read The Raven Boys 4 different times before I made it all the way through, and I ended up liking it. I read book 2 and liked it a little less. Then, I started book 3, made it about 80 pages in and haven’t touched the book in a year. I also DNF Shiver about 7 years ago. I think she creates vibrant worlds, but I don’t get invested in the characters or relationships.


A POPULAR BOOK TROPE THAT YOU’RE TIRED OF SEEING

CHEATING!!!!!


A POPULAR SERIES THAT YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN READING

The Infernal Devices by Cassadra Clare.  I haven’t even finished The Mortal Instruments (I’ve read book 1 twice and that’s it), but I really don’t want to read this one at all. As mentioned above I don’t like steampunk so this just doesn’t interest me. But to be honest, I’ll probably read it at some point in time, I’m just not very excited too. Plus my sister really hated this and I trust her opinion 98% of the time.


 

THE SAYING GOES “THE BOOK IS ALWAYS BETTER THAN THE MOVIE”, BUT WHAT MOVIE OR TV SHOW ADAPTATION DO YOU PREFER MORE THAN THE BOOK?

The 100 by Kass Morgan.

I’ve only read the first book, but it really doesn’t hold a candle to the TV show. The characters, relationships, and world are all so much more developed and interesting!


I really want everyone to do this (so I can see your answers), so this is a free-for-all tag!

Do you agree with any of my opinions? Do you disagree? What are your unpopular book opinions? Share below!!!

 

16 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions | Book Tag

  1. Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd says:

    I agree with The 100! I haven’t read the books but I’ve heard from loads of people that the show is better! And it’s so funny that you have Warner in your list of characters that you don’t like when he’s literally my favourite character EVER! It’s always so interesting how different our optinions are!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Annie Earnshaw says:

    I’ve only read the first book of Mortal Instruments too and I wasn’t interested in finishing it either, but I found a cheap copy of the second book online for dirt cheap so I’m going to give the series another go 🙂 I’ve seen this tag everywhere as well and your answers were so unique and refreshing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tris says:

    I stopped at book 3 for The Mortal Instruments, I liked it well enough but it is not high on my list and I have no motivation to read it. I really never saw why everyone raves about the series as a whole because I was a little let down when I finally got around to reading it.

    I’ll have to check out The 100 I am actually wanting to do a series of all the movies and shows that were better than the books. I mostly have chick flicks on the list right now.

    Like

  4. Harini says:

    Don’t throw me down the hill for this…but I think the HP movies were way better than the books . I just couldn’t tolerate the writing style . JK Rowling has a nice imagination but her style sucks .

    Like

Leave a Reply

