Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

Spellbook of the Lost and FoundTitle: Spellbook of the Lost and Found

Author: Moïra Fowley-Doyle

Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3.5 Stars)

Release Date: August 8, 2017

“Be careful what you wish for; not all lost things should be found.”


This book was honestly one big mindwarp. But I kinda liked it. It’s gritty and seductive, with an air of mystery that created a perfectly surreal environment for the story. We follow Olive, and her best friend Rose, as they begin to lose things after the town’s annual bonfire. They meet up with 3 mysterious teens, Hazel, Rowan, and Ivy, who have lost things of their own. The ragtag group begins to find diary pages from a girl named Laurel and an ancient spellbook that can recall lost things. Magic, mystery, and mayhem ensure in this seductive and enchanting read.


Things I Liked
The different friend groups present in the story are all really fantastic. I loved how Olive, Rose, Hazel, Rowan, and Ivy’s story was paralleling Laurel, Ash, and Holly’s. I also loved the friendships between Olive & Rose, and Hazel, Rowan, & Ivy. The developed and established friendships made the entire team up more enjoyable and believable.

There was this surreal feeling atmosphere over the entire story. It created this serendipitous world where everything happened and was interconnected. It really matched the subject matter and I liked that.

At the end of the story I was left with some unanswered questions, but I don’t think everything in this story needed a clear answer. I like that I’m left wondering about some aspects of the story. It matched the mysterious nature well.

There was some LGBT+ rep, which I wasn’t expecting. Rose and Olive both identify as bisexual, and Hazel identifies as a lesbian. Olive is deaf in one ear, and uses a hearing aid. It was nice to get some representation for people who are hard of hearing. Rose is half-Indian, and confronts some racist slurs, which are quickly challenged. It was nice to see non-white characters in this Irish setting. More diverse representation us always a good thing


Things I Didn’t Like
While I did enjoy the overall surreal feeling, it did have this weightless quality that made it hard to connect with the characters in the beginning of the story. The magicalness was perfect for the mystery, but it did keep the story from being grounded for me.

I found that in the beginning third of the book, the different POV chapters ran together for me; especially because we’re introduced to the three groups at roughly the same time. The different groups finding the other’s “lost things” also didn’t help differentiate the people.

Ivy left a little bit of a bad taste in my mouth after a reveal that happened in the last quarter of the book, and I didn’t really like her much after that. I know everyone in this book is selfish, but I felt like that she did went a little too far.


Spellbook of the Lost and Found is a magically captivating read that draws you into a world of loss, mystery, and endurance. The dynamics really shined, while I found the romances to be a little lackluster. This is my first book from Moïra Fowley-Doyle, but it definitely intrigues me enough to check out more of her work.


I received this book from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

3 thoughts on “Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

Leave a Reply

