Recent Reads Mini Reviews

This mini review round up is quite the assorted collection, which really just goes to show my ecclectic reading taste. But I hope you enjoy it nontheless.


The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

The Truth About Forever

Rating:  ★★☆☆☆
Release Date: May 11,2004

Fine and mostly forgettable, but I loved the cobbled together family that Macy falls into while catering. And seeing how her family is grieving the loss of her father in different ways was nice. There wasn’t anything wrong with the story, I just know I’m not going to be thinging about it again.

 


Off-Script by Kate Watson

Off Script

Rating: ★★☆☆☆
Release Date: January 21, 2020

DNF @14%

There wasn’t really anything wrong with this, it just was not holding my interest in the slightest. The writing felt off to me – just very simple and stilted, so it wasn’t pulling me in either. A miss for me, but I’m sure other will fnd this story fun.

I received a copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 


Her Royal Highness by Rachel Hawkins

Her Royal Highness (Royals, #2)

Rating: ★★★☆☆
Release Date: May 7, 2019

This was a cute and light hearted romance story but it didn’t quite live up to my expectations. While the setting was charming and the story was fun, I think the actual romance was my least favorite part of the story. We really didn’t get any cute romance stuff until a ways into the book and the dramatic conflict and the end of the story was weak and remained unresolved. And the chracters weren’t that strong either – Millie was okay, but I still feel like I don’t really know Flora (and my first impression wasn’t the greatest). Overall, it was just an okay read, enjoyable but not very memorable.

 

 


Have you read any of these books? Which do you think you’ll pick up first? Share below!

Signature

Leave a comment