Recent Reads Mini Reviews

More mini reviews from books I’ve enjoyed to varying degrees over the last few weeks.


Mister Magic by Keirsten White

Rating: ★★★★☆
Release Date: August 8, 2023

Really enjoyed it, but the ending was a little lackluster for me. There’s a real whimsy to this story that fit so perfectly with the legacy of a children’s tv show. And the ominous undercurrent is what makes it a great thriller/light horror, I’m not sure how it’s classified. I loved the cast of characters reuniting and seeing the mysteries slowly unravel – the pacing was perfect for me, except the end which I felt was a little rushed. But overall, this wasa much more successful read for me than Hide.
 

The Weiner Around the Way by Amy Award

Rating: ★★★☆☆
Release Date: January 24, 2024

Leading up to the Superbowl, I was in the mood for some sports romance stories and this one is like cotton candy – quick to devour and addicting. It’s truly just a fun time and while the plot might have been a little too close to real life for me to enjoy some elements (as someone who typically hated modern references in stories), I still had a fun time and thought Kelsey and Delan were a solidly cute couple.

Housed of Flame and Shadow by Sarah J. Maas

Rating: ★★★★☆ 
Release Date: January 30, 2024

Somewhere in the range between 4 and 4.5, but I have come to realize that I can’t review these books at all. I’m just here for the vibes and good times and it delivered for me. I thought it was ridiculous and over the top and exactly what I was looking for. I really liked getting more of the world explained and loved all the different character POVs. I love this world and can’t wait to see what happens next.

The Hookup Plan by Farrah Rochon

Rating: ★★★★☆
Release Date: August 2, 2022

What a solid romance! London and Drew were academic rivals in high school and have reconnected years later as Drew is auditing the hospital that London works. They still are butting heads, but notice there’s a chemistry spark there too. I loved all the characters – London and Drew both felt so well developed – real people with lives, hopes, and fears outside of their romantic relationship and relation to the other. I know this was the last book in the series, but it hooked me and I’m definitely going to read the first two books!
 

What books have you been reading lately? Share below.

Signature

Leave a comment