Recent Reads Mini Reviews

More mini reviews from books I’ve enjoyed to varying degrees over the last few weeks.


Savvy Sheldon Feels Good as Hell by Taj McCoy

Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3.5 Stars)
Release Date: March 22, 2022

This was a little heavy on the self-improvement journey and lighter on the romanctic devlopment for my tastse in a romance, but Savvy’s journey to confidence and self-acceptace was nice to see. I enjoyed seeing her putting herelf and her needs first after absolutely being mistreated by her ex-boyfriend. If you’re looking for a more character-focused story with a little romance, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.
 

Fangirl Down by Tessa Bailey

Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3.5 Stars)
Release Date: February 14, 2024

This was actually pretty cute. I thought Wells and Josephine were so easy to cheer for because there’s so much mutual love and respect between them (even if it does take Wells’ grumpy self a minute to admit it). There was never too much hero worship or fauning – I think Wells really appreciate that Josephine challegned and questioned him, even being one of his biggest and longest fans. And I really liked Josephine hold her ground and not be afraid to voice her opinions and advocate for herself – not just in her career, but her health as well. The chemistry was fine – but I thought it was a little flat. Through the whole story they felt like they were developing a solid foundation and friendship, but I didn’t really get romance from them. Sexual chemistry, sure but it was missing somethings for me. Even with that, I still had a really fun time reading this and would easily recommend for a good time!

I received a copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

The Unmaking of June Farrow by Adrienne Young

Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3.5 Stars)
Release Date: October 17, 2023

I’ve enjoyed Adrienne Young’s light speculative adult works and I was cautiosly optimistic about this slightly more sci-fi. I liked the world – it was both surreal and grounded, perfect for the story. And the quiet mountain town was just isolated enough to make this story work. The character connections felt real and earned – except for June and her longtime best friend from home. I didn’t buy it unfortunately and that let me down especially toward the end of the book when that realtionship is supposed to help June make an important choice. There was good growth and development in the other relationships though that helped carry the plot forward.

Zora Books Her Happily Ever After by Taj McCoy

Rating: ★★☆☆☆ (2.5 Stars)
Release Date: April 25, 2023

Unfortunately, my biggest frustration with this book was Zora herself. While I loved her drive and respect and cultivaton for the community, she lacked some common sense. And yes, Reid and Lawrence need to be better at communication, (view spoiler). It was a little ridiculous and I didn’t like that she made it about herself where there are very real consequences that she pushed into action with little regard to the other parties. I did like that this ‘love angle’ actually had some development on page for both couples and I was happy she ended up with who I preferred (the only option really). But this was kinda underwhelming honestly.
 

What books have you been reading lately? Share below.

Signature

Leave a comment