Audiobook Review | THUNDERHEAD by Neal Shusterman

Thunderhead (Arc of a Scythe, #2)Title: Thunderhead (Arc of a Scythe #2)

Author: Neal Shusterman

Rating: ★★★★★

Publisher: Simon & Schuster BFYR

Release Date: January 9, 2018

“Were I to begin doling out death, I would be the very monster that mortal man feared artificial intelligence would become … No, I decided. Let humankind be the saviors and the silencers. Let them be the heroes. Let them be the monsters.”


I’m just so in awe of the Thunderhead and the world that Neal Shusterman has created. It’s exciting and scary and everything you could ever want and everything you hope you never get. It’s a perfect paradox. Thunderhead continues to follow the journeys of Citra Terranova and Rowan Damisch as their worlds become more complex and they face unexpected challenges. Honestly, this book is so much bigger than Citra and Rowan, and it expands and unfolds in the best way.


Things I Liked 
The Thunderhead and everything about the Thunderhead. The Thunderhead is hands down the best A.I. character that I have ever read. It’s so benevolent and pure and kind and just. It literally does no wrong and is so caring and empathetic. I also really loved the trilogue and seeing the roles of Nimbus agents explored.

I loved seeing Citra and Rowan again! Seeing how each of these characters have grown and changed was incredible. They’ve become the best versions of themselves, they’re different but they are still them. I loved seeing how they each approach being a Scythe – I thought Citra/Scythe Anastasia’s method of gleaning was so perfect for her and I loved it. I also loved seeing Rowan be his own brand of justice in the Scythedom as Scythe Lucifer.

We get some pretty great new characters in Thunderhead. Greyson Tolliver might have been my favorite. It was so easy to connect with him and I LOVED the role he played in the story and the huge journey he goes through. Sythe Constantine was a really cool character because I never knew where he stood. I was constantly second guessing him and his motives. He kept the story engaging and me on my feet.

We get some more fantastic worldbuilding that expanded what we knew about the world. I really liked learning more about unsavories and their role as citizens, and how the Thunderhead still provides for them even though they actively trash the system. Seeing the AWFul clubs were both hilarious and horrifying. I liked learning more about the world outside of MidMerica and exploring charter regions, and their importance, seeing Endura and the World Council.

Quotes

“There is a fine line between freedom and permission. The former is necessary. The latter is dangerous – perhaps the most dangerous thing the species that created me has ever faced.”


“Faith is an unfortunate casualty of immortality … A place when miracles and magic have no mystery.”


“How ironic then, and how poetic, that humankind may have created the Creator out of want for one. Man creates God who then creates man. Is that not the perfect circle of life? But then, if that turns out to be the case, who is created in whose image?”


“I have come to realize that there are only two perfect acts. They are the two most important acts known to me, but I forbid myself from performing them, and leave them in the hands of humankind. They are the creation of life … and life’s taking.”


“‘We’re all arrogant,’ Marie had once told her. ‘After all, we are chosen because we are the brightest and the wisest. The best we can hope for is to be humble in our arrogance.’”


“In the distant past, before I condensed into consciousness, death was an unavoidable consequence of life. It was I who made death irrelevant – but not unnecessary. Death must exist for life to have meaning.”


Things I Didn’t Like 
Citra is too forgiving. I mean, it’s part of what makes her such a good Scythe and a good person in general, but man was I pissed about something that she just let go. I felt like I had to be mad on her behalf, because she’s so rational and accepting. Don’t get me wrong, she won’t let anybody walk all over her, but I wanted her to be more upset about something than she was.


This book is an amazing journey filled with new characters, new twists, and new challenges. This series had moved beyond just focusing on Citra and Rowan and opened our eyes to the world and invited us to be a part of the journey. My heart broke for some people and it rejoiced for others. I’m just so invested in this world – this book makes you care. It’s just so good, you need to read it. And I have no idea where the story is going next, but I can’t wait to see what happens.

Have you read THUNDERHEAD yet? Do you love this series as much as me? Share below!

Signature

4 thoughts on “Audiobook Review | THUNDERHEAD by Neal Shusterman

  1. Elise @ Roaming Reader says:

    It’s great to hear a great review for this novel. I loved Scythe and have loved pretty much all of Shusterman’s novels that I’ve read. I recently bought Thunderhead but haven’t picked it up yet (I might read it next) hopefully I’ll enjoy it as much as you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment